top of page
Search

Driving on Faith

From a Lyft ride to sanctified

When I first started doing rideshare work it was initially to help me get on a budget and stay ahead as my bills had tripled since I moved from Greensboro, NC to the Charlotte area. Little did I know that driving people to their destinations would become sort of a ministry for not only the riders but myself.


One day while scrolling down my little blue app I ran across this preacher who resonated with me. She said that God spoke to her and said that she needed to initiate the Daniel fast except that it was to be modified to only raw vegetables and water for 10 straight days. The week leading up to the fast she kept reiterating that during this time of detoxing that if we allowed God to fully step into our lives and heart that not only will we see major health benefits, but we would have true spiritual encounters. That God would speak to us.


And boy did God speak to me in those 10 days. He not only gave me the name for my soon to come business, but he said that this business would be the vehicle that would birth to life a vision that he gave me in 2000. The Blueprint for how this vision would finally come to fruition after two decades.






Throughout the 10 days fast I kept hearing, Faith Fitz You. And then the vision of a clothing brand became clear as day. It's so much bigger than fashion, it's about being a representation of what I stand for, WHO I stand for and spreading HIS word. To be a reminder to others to never lose sight of their faith, for He tells us all that when we seek his kingdom, He will give us the desires of our heart.


As the weeks passed the creator has continued to reveal himself to me through scripture, through places, through people. One person in particular, a Lyft rider I picked up one early Sunday morning. I was a little down because it looked like it was going to be a very "slow" day as I sat in a parking lot for over 20 minutes waiting on a customer. But little did I know God had other plans for me that day.


When the ride request finally came in, I headed to my customer with my gospel playing lightly in the background (I keep the Holy Spirit coming through the airwaves when I transport my customers from point A to point B. Gotta keep that energy right). She gets in the car, and I put the destination address in my GPS not even paying attention to the location. When we arrived at the parking lot, I noticed that we were at Elevation church, so I asked was this the main campus and she replied, "yes this is Pastor Steven's church". I told the young lady I had been trying to find his church since I moved to the area. She replied with one word, "come".


I took heed to the Holy Spirit turned off my Lyft app and went to what is now my home church with my Lyft customer. Call it cliche, but the more I find myself in God's presence whether it's reading my bible, attending church, watching a YouTube sermon or listening to a podcast; it seems that the Creator keeps downloading into me step after step after step on this journey.


I'm not going to lie; I've tried many different ways of stepping into entrepreneurship. Some would say I'm a bit of a serial-preneur. I've tried everything from multi-level marketing to direct sales to singing in night clubs, but I never felt whole. It wasn't until I truly found Christ that I found my purpose. As I heard a pastor put it today, we should chase purpose, not paper. More confirmation that I am on the right path.


It is my hope to be a little inspiration of encouragement for others to walk in their God given purpose while continuing on this journey. Always remember it doesn't matter how old or young you are, big or small you are Faith Fitz You!!






4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page